Number crunching

February 25, 2010

Hello bloggies!

The last couple of days have been stressful and annoying food wise!

I participated in a student’s research where I had to fill out every little detail about everything I ate in 3 consecutive days!

Oh boy!

She wants to find out what’s healthier, a vegetarian diet (incl. dairy and eggs) or a a carnivore diet.

So, being the responsible researchee that I am, I weighed out every single thing I ate and oh man, was that time consuming, stressful and boring!

I own a food scale and I usually weigh out my oats in the morning because I always think I need more than what’s in the bowl, obviously because I only see the dry oats and can’t imagine the fat cooked soaked up volumized oatmeal at the end.

Anyway, I weighed and jotted down and weighed and jotted down and it was actually quite difficult to squeeze in every single detail in the space given by her, especially when I had a salad where I throw in everything remotely vege like!

ThisĀ  made me think, some people with issues with food do this all the time! They weigh and work out the calories and track them every single day and I just can’t imagine what a stressful life that must be! Disordered eating is really not just the straight forward bulimia and anorexia that a lot people think of when they hear ED.

It includes so many other things like obsessively weighing and calculating the nutrition of every single morsel of food you put in your mouth, or the restrictive diet that leads to binges (been there, done that), or in general the huge amount of emotion we put in our food and see it as an unavoidable enemy…

It is incredible I think that so many people are affected by this but not much is known or covered by the media apart from the obvious illnesses.

Since Gena over at Choosing Raw made me aware that it is in fact National ED awareness week, I thought I’d make a little post about this!

You can live your life waiting for the thinner, prettier, more confident, smarter, more talented self to finally come out and lead a wonderful perfect life or you can realise that this life has already started on the day you were born and that life is not so straight forward as you may think it is.

You can wish to be someone else as much as you like but you are not someone else, you are yourself and the sooner you accept this fact the less time you will waste feeling miserable and unhappy about things that do not matter.

It doesn’t matter if you are not the “perfect” size, and who says what the perfect size is? How long is a piece of string?

It doesn’t matter if you are not as pretty as so and so featured in a magazine or walking down the street and who defines attractiveness anyway?

Instead of thinking of all the things you are not, think of the things you are.

Cherish the things you have, we are blessed with life and happiness does not come with a perfect body, it comes from a healthy mind.

One Response to “Number crunching”

  1. [...] 25, 2010 Okay, after the hefty post here are my eats and workouts of the past few [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

