Over-hydrated

February 27, 2010

Hello chickpea-pl (see what I did thurr?)

I felt crappy today, ugh, a bit more info later, let’s see what what was eaten the last few days…

Dinner:

Phenom salad, specks of hummus makes this A star!

With a side of roasted sweet tatas and fried tofu. I fried it with garlic, soy sauce and some sesame oil, YUM! And sweet tatas? Well, there’s almost nothing better than roasted sweet tatas!

The whole essemble, plus a cute mini wholemeal pitta for added crunch/chewiness.

Next day Breakfast:

The next morning I tried a new breakfast, toast and eggs! Inspired by Jessica, I wanted to try something other than a big bowl of oatmeal and I wanted to test how good it fuels me for my workout.

The bread was by Vogel, YUM! I don’t usually choose toast as breakfast as I find it too light, airy, high in kcal and sugar and not very filling but this bread was just what I like! It was thick, heavy, dense, chewy and best of all, look at the stats and ingredients list!

Nutrition Information#:
SERVINGS PER PACKAGE: 8.5 (15 SLICES AND 2 CRUSTS)
SERVING SIZE: 88g (2 slices)

Contents Quantity Per Serving Quantity Per 100g
ENERGY 800kJ 910kJ
PROTEIN 7.9g 9.0g
FAT, TOTAL 0.9g 1.0g
-SATURATED 0.2g 0.3g
CARBOHYDRATE 35.6g 40.4g
-SUGARS 2.8g 3.2g
DIETARY FIBRE 3.6g 4.1g
SODIUM 375mg 425mg

Ingredients:

Water, Wheat Flour, Mixed Grains (24%) (Wheat, Rye), Skim Milk Powder, Wheat Glutten, Salt, Vinegar, Yeast.

No added sugar. :D

I smeared my lovely sliced of bread with cream cheese and had a 3 egg white omlette with some tomato sauce.

It sure was nice and I didn’t feel blown up like I do when I have my oats, so I skipped to the gym half an hour later and did a great workout!

Cardio:

45 mins treadmill intervalls, 3.5%

I say intervalls but I don’t slow down just decrease the incline and stay on a high speed until the end when I crank it up for a sprint.

Upper body:

Alternating bicep curls 5kg!!! (Too soon I think, I struggled lifting it up the 4th time, so I’ll stick to 4kg for now)

Kickbacks

Shoulder press

Bend over renegade row

3 times through.

Abs:

Crunches

Reverse Crunches

Leg lift obliques

3 times through

Felt awesome! Toast and eggs are a winning combo, might do this from now on and have oats less. I think having sweet breakfast messes with my blood sugar a bit…

After I showered, I usually put on the undies, bra and top on and put the rest on outside, I was just drying my feet when one of the staff came in and asked if I minded if their maintenance guy came in to have a look at the shower.

At that time there was one other woman in the changing room (it’s TINY btw, 9 lockers, 2 showers, 1 toilet and 2 benches) who was already dressed and almost ready to go.

I sat there bottomless with wet hair and was like “errr…”

Then she said: “Don’t worry, he won’t look at you, he’ll just go straight to the shower.”

Me: “Well can I get dressed first?!”

Woman: “Oh yeah sure, put on some trousers first!”

Off she went.

I was quite annoyed and the woman with me only rolled her eyes and left the changing room.

I mean, her excuse that he won’t look is really NOT GOOD ENOUGH. I wouldn’t have minded if she asked if he could come in once I’m dressed but to ask while I was still half naked?! HELL TO THE NAH.

I got dressed and left without drying my hair. :/

As I was out of the gym early I went into town on the hunt for some sweet nothings and other random stuff I don’t need.

I ended up with a beautiful heart necklace (it was cheap) some new tea and an AWESOME new food discovery (will review this at some later point when I actually take  a pic of it).

I came home and had some lunch.

Boring, I know but I love snackplatters.

This was the real star though, supermarket had mangos half price, ¬£0.99 for some hughjass mangos, I picked the softest, biggest and reddest. :D SO GOOD, when you get a good mango it’s like heaven!

Did some major washing ups/laundry/cleaning in general. I think I am on a total clean trip right now, I like everything to be done and not pile up! Plus I enjoy doing the washing up while listening to audiobooks. :D

Dinner

LOVED this salad! I think the dill cuce on top added so much to it! Topped with cottage cheese and specks of hummus, winning combo, will be repeated soon.

On the side, the rest of the half block of tofu again fried with garlic, soy and some agave, and some butternut coquino squash fries.

Don’t be fooled folks, it looks amazing, it smelled amazing yet the taste was very disappointing. :( I picked it out in the supermarket a few days ago instead of butternut because I just wanted to try something new and it looked almost exactly like a butternut and the description was similar so I thought I’d give it a try. Well it was watery and bland and wasn’t crispy despite the crispy appearance. I’ll stick to my beloved butternut from now on!

Dessert:

The supermarket also had pomegranate on offer, so I bought one and yum, will buy again, hopefully it’s still on offer tomorrow! LOVED it in this little fruit salad.

Today was my rest day, I got up at around half past 8 and did some washing up, yes life is exciting!

Then I made myself a weekend breakfast! Stovetop oatmeal:

Jumbo oats, 1/2 a banana, cinnamon. topped with cherry jam and peanut butter.

GOOD.

With Coffee on the side and a sunny day!

It later on rained while the sun shone and I smiled to myself. My mum used to tell me when I was little that when it rains and the sun shines at the same time, the tigers celebrated their wedding. It’s some Korean myth thing I think. :D

It also reminded me of life itself, when it rains and the sun shines, there’s usually a rainbow as a result.

For something beautiful, it needs the good as well as the bad.

Life is beautiful but it needs both the good experience as well as the bad experience.

Anyway, enough of that, the rest of my day:

I bought this tea yesterday and it’s GREAT! The blueberry flavour is really good and it’s delicious without adding any sugar. I think I will try their other flavours, one of them was Strawberry and Vanilla fool. :D

Lunch was pretty much the same as yesterday, had some more mango <3 and tons of puffed wheat as a snack while I was working on my dissertation, ugh.

I also drank way too much today. Can you over-hydrate yourself? Yes you can! The worst thing is that the symptoms of over-hydration are much the same as dehydration, headaches, nausea etc.

I had 2 cups of coffee, 2 cups of tea and a lot of water because I thought the sickness came from dehydration.

I felt queasy so I decided to shut down the computer and lie down for a bit, it helped.

When dinner time rolled round I wasn’t really hungry but I wanted to hit the hay early so the earlier I eat the more time will my stomach have to digest. It was quick and easy today:

Dinner:

Chickpea and spinach soup with 2 sliced of Vogel bread.

I had some fruit salad (kiwi, mango, pear and grapes) for dessert and now I am tired and going to bed.

Good night everyone!

xxx

Pie

(1280 words in this post, wish it was that easy to write my dissertation!)

3 Responses to “Over-hydrated”

  1. frogsandmen said

    what great pictures…..i love it!
    a bientot,
    The Paris Food Blague

  2. […] dinner I had to eat the rest of the disappointing squash before it went […]

  3. jqlee said

    glad you liked the toast and eggs combo :)

    those mangos….omg they look so sweet. i absolutely LOVE tropcal fruits like mangos, papaya, coconut, etc.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

